Vladimir_Kazan  

 
Popularity of baitcasting reels  -  '07
 
(On tackletour.net forums materials)
 
 
 
In March 2007 we have published  statistics of interrogations  of TT community on the subject of "The reels of what brand you use more often?" for a period since spring 2003 till spring 2007.
 
Unfortunately, before the last voting (from 17.03.07) questions were put not "what you use more often?", and simple: "best brand". And this not same. As is known, everyone appreciate thin dry wines and women with legs from a neck, but drink vodka.
Besides the polls were made on brands "in common", that practically meant a common heap for reels of all types. To select from results the baitcasting reels alone it was impossible.
 
And only in March '07 we for the first time have made interrogations of a following level, namely: votings with the purpose of definition of the most popular reels inside the nomenclature of the most popular brands.
 
Now, in January '08, the interrogations are made as it is necessary:  "What manufacturer baitcasting reel you used most often in a past season (2007)?" - and two votings of the same type inside the nomenclature of two most popular brands.
 
 
On the manufacturers

Popularity of the manufacturers of baitcasting reels
(for April '03 - March '07 totally for all types of reels!)

Date of
poll
April '03-
March '07
%
 January '08 
      %       Voices 
 Daiwa453638
 Shimano395053
 Abu Garcia61314
 Quantum522
 others400
Participants
amount
496-107

 
Here now all has risen on the places!
It is well known on miscellaneous sources, that the Americans nevertheless among spinning reels prefer Daiwa, and among baitcasting reels - Shimano. And among production Abu Garcia the baitcasting reels are much more popular than spinning reels.
 
 
On names
 
Again (second time) have made two votings with the purpose of determination of the most popular reels among Daiwa and Shimano. The problem was put just so: not best among them, and with what you used more often. But have added, on our view, useful clarification: what you used more often just in a past season?
Number of items of poll not boundless, therefore in 11 items (12th - "others") we have laid only most popular reels of rather "light" classes (in the table below to more "light" reels there correspond more light cells).

Usage as basic (most often) among Shimano reels

Date of poll March '07  January '08 Trend
%
    %    Voices     %    Voices
 Scorpion1000/Curado100171617170
 ScorpionMG/Chronarch5016152020+25
 Metanium/Chr. 100 (+MG)10101212+20
 Antares/Calais 100991010+11
 Calcutta/Con. 200 (+DC)7755-29
 Antares/Calais 200 (+DC)7755-29
 Calcutta/Con. 100 (+DC)5544-20
 Calcutta/Conquest 505599+80
 Scorpion1500/Curado20044440
 Citica20033330
 Citica1003311-67
 others13121111-15
Participants amount-96-102-

Usage as basic (most often) among Daiwa reels

Date of poll March '07  January '08 Trend
%
    %    Voices     %    Voices
 TDZ/X AirMetal20192319+15
 Alphas/Sol19182319+21
 Fuego9943-56
 Pixy88108+25
 Zillion88119+38
 Steez551210+140
 TDX/S not AirMet.5522-60
 TDA1534465+50
 Presso22220
 Procaster1100-100
 TDA1501100-100
 others181754-72
Participants amount-97-81-

 
As we see, the changes for one year are appreciable.
 
Shimano increases production of reels with magnesium alloy frame (MG) and the popularity of brand has increased.
At last have got to the core the baby Calcutta/Conquest 50: it "appears", it is quite enough of it for many kinds of "severe" fishing, and on abilities to work from the smallest weights (specially version 50S) in a model line it is outside of a competition.
Some fiasco of DC me, excuse, pleases. Without gloating - constructively! For such money to purchase actually not DC, and "half-DC" (without the line tracking system), - whom as, but my professional consciousness is boiled over... In for a penny, in for a pound.
 
Daiwa. Even for a rather long time out of production, the TD-Z/X Airmetal while hold the first position, though and dividing it now with Alphas/Sol. Certainly, will hand over the position with time, specially as have the immediate heir - Steez. And here Fuego, as though hybrid of out of production TD-X Airmetal and TD-X not Airmetal, actually has failed... The fans of TD-X Airmetal it is more probable will changed on Steez or Alphas/Sol, and TD-X HSDF fans - on Zillion.
The size "150/153" Daiwa actively advance. Somehow... I can understand an Advantage-153HST type and its versions: as in all senses the average working horse with a magnificent price/quality parameter. But Alphas-153 - in my comprehension it any more not only an engineering perspective, but also not "thin" marketology and... They commute details from model on model (the boon in overwhelming majority it is without problems) and mould new and new labels... It is a pity, it is not solid as a minimum. Widened spools are most useful for vertical jigging, for trolling, but what for to figure such with a reel ground on opposite, on L-ML baitcasting?
 
It is necessary to mark, that in our interrogations the cheaper part of the nomenclature is in general minimumly represented, but also fallen here, as you can see, is popular a little. Here it is necessary to understand (and to not doubt): it is quite worthy reels and they can be purchased and effectively to use, but the possibilities and, accordingly, preference of TT associates are such that are. - High.
 
Still it is necessary to mark, that the change of a statement of interrogation could in any measure have an effect on the "Trend": in past year the question was simply about the basic working reel - and someone, likely, has termed "basic recently", perceiving it variously; this year it was necessary to name just the working horse 2007-th.
The next year, if the similar interrogations are held, it is necessary again to do some changes. Already notably, that the rotation among "most popular" is required, any should be removed from the list, any to enter. Besides it was clarified the list can be magnified from 11 up to 14 items.
 
 
  •  Do not confuse popularity in discussion and in usage, always there are discussed some "extreme", but usually are preferred in practice the "centre" types.
  •  Pay attention to "Trend", as now it is possible. Essentially negative tendency means, at least, that the market boom around of any model has appeared as phoney. Most likely, such reel - candidate on sales; if nevertheless it is pleasant under the characteristics, to catch it it is necessary there.
  •  Do not purchase a baitcasting reel of more "heavy" class, than it is necessary. The surplus in capacity, drag will be hardly ever claimed, and the poor castability for yours (rather light) baits will spoil to you pleasure from purchase - always.

  •  
     

    Optimized for IE5+ 800x600
    Posted 18.03.08
    There are utilised the data of polls (on 23.01.08):
    Which baitcasting reel brand do you MOST OFTEN used in '07?   (poll at 11.01.08)
    Which Shimano baitcast. reel do you MOST OFTEN used in '07?   (poll at 11.01.08)
    Which Daiwa LP baitcast. reel do you MOST OFTEN used in '07?  (poll at 11.01.08)


     

     
    image linking to 100 Top Bait and Tackle Sites Click Here to Visit! Vote for Us at The Outdoor Lodge's Top Fishing Sites Rambler's Top100

Владимир_Казань  

 
Популярность бэйткастинговых катушек  -  '07
 
(по материалам форума tackletour.net)
 
 
 
В марте 2007 мы опубликовали  статистику опросов  ТэклТура на тему "Катушки какого брэнда вы используете чаще?" за период с весны 2003 по весну 2007.
 
К сожалению, до последнего голосования (от 17.03.07) вопросы ставились не "какой вы пользуетесь чаще всего?", а просто: "лучшая марка". А это далеко не одно и то же. Как известно, все ценят тонкие сухие вина и женщин с ногами от шеи, но пьют водку.
Кроме того, опросы проводились по брэндам "вообще", что практически подразумевало общую кучу для катушек всех типов. Выделить из результатов собственно бэйткастинговые было невозможно.
И только в марте'07 мы впервые провели опросы следующего уровня, а именно: голосования с целью определения наиболее популярных катушек внутри номенклатуры наиболее популярных брэндов.
 
Теперь, в январе'08, опросы проведены "как надо":  Бэйткастинговой катушкой какого производителя вы пользовались наиболее часто в прошедшем сезоне (в 2007)? - и два голосования такого же типа внутри номенклатуры двух наиболее популярных брэндов.
 
 
По производителям

Популярность производителей бэйткастинговых катушек
(за Апрель'03-Март'07 суммарно по всем типам катушек!)

Дата
опроса
Апрель'03
-Март'07
%
 Январь'08 
      %       Голоса 
 Daiwa453638
 Shimano395053
 Abu Garcia61314
 Quantum522
 прочие400
Голоса
суммарно
496-107

 
Вот теперь всё встало на свои места!
Хорошо известно по разным источникам, что американцы всё же среди спининговых катушек отдают предпочтение Daiwa, а среди бэйткастинговых - Shimano. А среди продукции Abu Garcia бэйткастинговые катушки много более популярны спининговых.
 
 
По маркам
 
Снова (второй раз) провели два голосования с целью определения наиболее популярных катушек среди Daiwa и Shimano. Вопрос ставился именно так: не "лучшая" среди них, а какой вы пользовались чаще всего... Но добавили, на наш взгляд, полезное уточнение: какой вы чаще всего пользовались именно в прошедшем сезоне?
Число пунктов опроса не безграничное, поэтому в 11 позиций (12-я - "другие") мы уложили только наиболее популярные катушки относительно "лёгких" классов (в таблице ниже более "лёгким" катушкам соответствуют более светлые клетки).

Использование в качестве основной
(наиболее часто) среди катушек Shimano

Дата опроса Март'07  Январь'08 Тен-
денция
%
    %    Голоса     %    Голоса
 Scorpion1000/Curado100171617170
 ScorpionMG/Chronarch5016152020+25
 Metanium/Chr. 100 (+MG)10101212+20
 Antares/Calais 100991010+11
 Calcutta/Con. 200 (+DC)7755-29
 Antares/Calais 200 (+DC)7755-29
 Calcutta/Con. 100 (+DC)5544-20
 Calcutta/Conquest 505599+80
 Scorpion1500/Curado20044440
 Citica20033330
 Citica1003311-67
 прочие13121111-15
Голоса суммарно-96-102-

Использование в качестве основной
(наиболее часто) среди катушек Daiwa

Дата опроса Март'07  Январь'08 Тен-
денция
%
    %    Голоса     %    Голоса
 TDZ/X AirMetal20192319+15
 Alphas/Sol19182319+21
 Fuego9943-56
 Pixy88108+25
 Zillion88119+38
 Steez551210+140
 TDX/S не AirMet.5522-60
 TDA1534465+50
 Presso22220
 Procaster1100-100
 TDA1501100-100
 прочие181754-72
Голоса суммарно-97-81-

 
Как видим, изменения за год заметны.
 
Shimano начала выпускать катушки с корпусом из магниевого сплава ("MG"), и популярность брэнда возросла за счёт них. Наконец раскусили малютку Calcutta/Conquest 50: "оказывается", её вполне достаточно для многих видов "серьезного" ужения, а уж по способностям работать от самых малых весов (особенно версии 50S) в модельном ряду она вне конкуренции.
Некоторый провальчик DC меня, уж извините, радует. Без злорадства - конструктивно! За такие деньги покупать на самом деле не DC, а "полу-DC" (без системы слежения за леской) - кому как, но моё профессиональное нутро негодует... Назвался груздём - отвечай.
 
Daiwa. Даже довольно давно снятые с производства TD-Z/X Airmetal пока удерживают первую позицию, хотя и деля её теперь с Alphas/Sol. Конечно, будут сдавать, тем более что имеют прямого наследника - Steez. А вот Fuego, как бы гибрид снятых с производства TD-X Airmetal и TD-X не Airmetal, фактически провалилась... Любители TD-X Airmetal скорее "пересядут" на Steez или Alphas/Sol, а любители TD-X HSDF - на Zillion.
Размер "150/153" Daiwa активно продвигает. Почему-то... Могу понять тип A153HST и версии: как во всех смыслах средние рабочие лошади с великолепным показателем цена/качество. Но Alphas153 - в моём понимании это уже не только не инженерная перспектива, но и не "тонкая" маркетология, а "вал", "чох": переставляем детали с модели на модель (благо в подавляющем большинстве без проблем) и лепим всё новые и новые лейбаки. Жаль, не солидно всё это как минимум... Уширенные шпули полезны для вертикального джигинга и траулинга, но зачем изображать такое из катушки, заточенной на прямо противоположное, на ML-бэйткастинг?
 
Надо отметить, что в наших опросах вообще минимально представлена более дешевая часть номенклатуры, но и попавшая сюда, как видите, мало популярна. Здесь надо понять (и не сомневаться): это вполне достойные катушки и их можно покупать и эффективно использовать, но... возможности и, соответственно, предпочтения членов сообщества ТэклТур такие, какие есть. - Высокие.
 
Ещё надо отметить, что на "тенденциях" могло в какой-то мере сказаться и изменение формулировки опроса: в прошлом году вопрос был просто об основной рабочей катушке - и кто-то, наверно, назвал основную "в последнее время", понимая это по-разному; в этом году надо было называть именно рабочую лошадь 2007-го.
На будущий год, если подобные опросы состоятся, придется снова делать некоторые изменения. Уже заметно, что требуется ротация среди "самых популярных", какие-то надо выводить из списка, какие-то вводить. Кроме того, как выяснилось, и сам список можно увеличить с 11 до 14 позиций.
 
 
  •  Не путайте популярность в обсуждении и в использовании, обсуждают всегда "крайние", а пользуются "центровыми".
  •  Обратите внимание на "тенденцию", благо теперь есть такая возможность. Существенно отрицательная тенденция означает, по крайней мере, что рыночный бум вокруг какой-то модели оказался дутым. Скорее всего, такая катушка - кандидат в распродажи; если всё же нравится по характеристикам, ловить ее надо там.
  •  Не покупайте бэйткастинговую катушку более "тяжелого" класса, чем нужно. Избыток в лесоёмкости, тяге вряд ли будет когда-либо востребован, а плохая "кидабельность" для ваших (сравнительно легких) приманок испортит вам удовольствие от приобретения - всегда.

  •  
     

    Оптимизировано для IE5+ 800x600
    Вывешено 24.01.08
    Использованы данные опросов (по состоянию на 23.01.08):
    Which baitcasting reel brand do you MOST OFTEN used in '07?   (опрос от 11.01.08)
    Which Shimano baitcast. reel do you MOST OFTEN used in '07?   (опрос от 11.01.08)
    Which Daiwa LP baitcast. reel do you MOST OFTEN used in '07?  (опрос от 11.01.08)


     

     
    image linking to 100 Top Bait and Tackle Sites Click Here to Visit! Vote for Us at The Outdoor Lodge's Top Fishing Sites Rambler's Top100